My giraffe self

Which animal would you compare yourself to and why?

I could be a giraffe, with my long neck up high in the sky, reaching for some leaves, providing me with the necessary food but also fluids for life.

Giraf, giraffe, overzicht, overview, wijdsheid, spacy plains
Photo by Aleksandr Volkov on Pexels.com

Giraffe, (genus Giraffa), any of four species in the genus Giraffa of long-necked cud-chewing hoofed mammals of Africa, with long legs and a coat pattern of irregular brown patches on a light background. Giraffes are the tallest of all land animals; males (bulls) may exceed 5.5 metres (18 feet) in height, and the tallest females (cows) are about 4.5 metres.

The long neck gives me the advantage that I can see far over the steppes, the great plains, where bushes do not escape my alert eyes. Though in my world I look much further than those level areas of the Earth’s surface exhibiting gentle slopes and small local relief. With my long neck, I even see over the hills and mountains.

Montane plains as seen in Horton Plains in Sri Lanka.

From up high, I can overlook the plains of this world and see all those animals fighting to survive, but also those many human beings that fight just to kill and to gain more dominion. Oh, so many do not hesitate to reach for land that is not theirs, but which they eagerly want to possess.

A small, incised alluvial plain from Red Rock Canyon State Park (California).

With my high legs, I can step over the thorns and unpleasant bushes. My ‘tread’ may be slow, but it is secure, making sure I do not damage what should be kept untouched.

My large muscles, attached to long spines on the vertebrae of the upper back, support the neck, that flexes so that balance is maintained.

Though I may prefer to eat new shoots and leaves, mainly from the thorny acacia tree. I love the fragrant flowers, which are arranged in compact globular or cylindrical clusters. I love sweetness, but when I look from high up, I notice that there is not much sweetness in this world. Not many sweeteners to devour.

pastryThe pastry this world has at hand has gone soured by all the jealousy, hatred and envy that prevails here on this globe, not to mention all the violence and fighting that takes place.

From the heavenly skies, I see how a terrible mentality now prevails on earth, about which something urgently needs to be done. This forced me to reach for my pen and comment on the many abuses that exist today.

Where I pass by, there always seems to be plenty of food, but I find people who cannot find their fill and want more and more. Their gluttony and desire for more has taken them far from values and standards, making my heart ache.

Trappen naar deur, mystiek, smalle poort, opgaand naar het geestelijke, going up to the sacred, spiritual, small gate, mysticism
Photo by Robin Schreiner on Pexels.com

A lot of yelling and screaming hits my high-pitched ears and does not leave me unmoved. But the majority of people around me care little about what is really happening in this world. Many are themselves shackled, though they don’t know it themselves. Preferably, they chain people around them and impose rules on them that should govern our world but do anything but. The vast majority of people, I can see from here, are walking around lost with (invisible) shackles and blinded by the sun of the world instead of seeing the sun of the Divine Creator of this world. He is open to receiving those who want to meet His light. But there are not many who want to climb the ladders to the narrow gate.

For my part, I want to sink through my high legs and offer my long neck to the people around me so that they could climb up more easily. Together, I want to trek with those who want through the desert to richer grasslands and streams of living water.

Vlakten, bossen en weiden, fields and forest, nature, natuur
Photo by Mathijs Wouters on Pexels.com

Though I am regularly thirsty, I look for the source that can best refresh me and contribute to ensuring that I will be able to last for many years to come. During those years, I will grow and gain more insight into a much better life than can be found on this earth now. In the distance, from my high tower, I see the light shining of a hopeful future, where I want to go with other fellow travellers.

 

++

Of interest

  1. Less for more
  2. Justififiable anger or just anarchism
  3. 2014 Religion
  4. Being Charlie 6
  5. Ability for a community to come back from a crisis
  6. What a 21st century civil war would look like
  7. The Independent 2022 August 29 – September 04
  8. Devotees and spotters
  9. a City full of the Pride of life
  10. Do you want to take control of your life? – What are boundaries and how to set them?
  11. Have you also been deceived
  12. Meditation – Pride
  13. Securing risks
  14. Faithful Are the Wounds of a Friend
  15. Who are the honest ones?
  16. Today’s thought “Allowed to have dominion over the universe” (January 02)
  17. Thought for today (January 17): Walking not after the flesh, but after the spirit
  18. Colour-blindness and road code
  19. Today’s thought “Nutritional spiritual food” (November 14)
  20. Matthew 15:1-20 – The Nazarene’s Commentary: Tradition and the Heart
  21. Matthew 23:16-22 – The Nazarene’s Commentary: Woe 3: Blind Guides and Gold
  22. Souls and Religions with Nirvana and light
  23. Importance of Tikkun olam
  24. Expectations for kashrut to meet individual and contemporary norms
  25. Walking the Walk or Stepping on the right Path
  26. Set free from any form of mental torment or self-condemnation
  27. Religious Freedom in a Multicultural World (Some View on the World)Religious Freedom in a Multicultural World (Our World)
  28. Integrity of the fellowship
  29. Prophecies over coming days
  30. Facts: Why they matter and how to check them
  31. Today’s Thought “Witnessing servants of God” (June 19)

+++

Related

  1. The good old daze?
  2. When the Mind Lags
  3. Finding Your Perfect Formula: The Power of Experimentation
  4. How is Gluttony a Danger to Your Soul?
  5. Dante’s seven deadly sins – an OBJECTive view By Fiona Deaton
  6. The Seven Deadly Sins
  7. Imaginary Hero
  8. Gluttony rears
  9. “You Can Do It Different”
  10. Tapping Into Your Me Mentality
  11. Is it Success or is it Failure?
  12. The Walls We Build
  13. On saying “No.”
  14. God and Relapse
  15. Tru2Day1438
  16. Identity – Truth of what/ who you are
  17. My Story: Who am I?
  18. Fighting Fingers appeal to the God…
  19. Sermon: “I Am Thirsty!” (John 4:5-24) on March 12, 2023
  20. One-on-One: Woman at the Well
  21. Water Straight From the Source
  22. Quote of the day, 14 March: Silvio José Báez, ocd
  23. Christ vs. Belial?
  24. Random Questions – Random answers
  25. Odd prompts, with obvious choices.
  26. DP – Animal Comparison
  27. My animal
  28. Which animal would you compare yourself to and why?
  29. Which animal would I compare myself to, and why? – I had to give this quite a lot of thought
  30. Entry #18 – WordPress writing prompt – Which animal would you compare yourself to and why?
  31. 635..which animal would you compare yourself to and why?
  32. Which animal would you compare yourself to and why?
  33. Why insult them…!?
  34. Human is my compare in anima.
  35. Familiar Animals
  36. Animal similar to me
  37. The Animal I would be?
  38. What Animal Am I
  39. Spirit Animal
  40. Animals
  41. Cow – always positive
  42. With the deer, kind and sincere
  43. Bringing out the animal in me
  44. Which animal would you compare yourself to and why? – Comparing myself to a dog
  45. Animal – I would honestly compare myself to a dog.
  46. Dog
  47. I’m like a dog,
  48. I’m like a sheep dog
  49. My response to the prompt #5 – I would so be a Scottish Border Terrier
  50. dogs!
  51. Comparing myself to a leprechaun could be a fun way to explore my own identity and sense of self
  52. I would compare myself to a hamster
  53. WordPress Asks
  54. The Swan
  55. Which Animal…Easy!
  56. Animal comparison – probably a bird, maybe because I like to go places
  57. Comparing to birds
  58. Bird of Prey
  59. Definitely a Bird
  60. An owl
  61. Nchenge – I am an Eagle in mindset
  62. Eagle
  63. An eagle. I will eat almost any food on offer
  64. Eagles are symbols of prophets in the prophetic ministry
  65. A hawk . It is a very powerful bird, arrogant and can fly at high altitudes
  66. I choose the bird I often hear outside my window.
  67. Vanessa, the Butterfly
  68. Flying Free
  69. You’re an animal! Well, yes. – The obvious answer would be a monkey, perhaps a chimpanzee.
  70. Monkey
  71. Monkeys Rule!
  72. Eagles, and Wolves
  73. Prompting me again.
  74. Am I A Man Or A Wolf
  75. I will compare myself to a wolfBecause Bhadiya always shows loyalty to his family
  76. Prompt 17 – A wolf. I travel at my own paste
  77. The Wolf
  78. The wolverine
  79. Reflection
  80. Comparing to a Penguin because of their dedication to one thing and they stick with it for life.
  81. Squirreling
  82. I am a sociable & playful fox squirrel,
  83. Animal compare myself to – Racoon
  84. Prompt 7
  85. Prompt 9
  86. Go Bengals
  87. Which animal would you compare yourself to and why? – I would compare my self to a cat
  88. Which animal would you compare yourself to and why? = As an introvert, I would compare myself to a cat.
  89. Animal Comparison – sense of freedom o do things their way.
  90. I would definitely like to be a cat
  91. Meerkat
  92. #66
  93. A cat is what am meant to be!
  94. Cats
  95. Meow?
  96. If I were an animal, I would be a phoenix.
  97. Tiger
  98. Knowledge – Lion I think, when a person has a good vibe, their opinion matters.
  99. I would be lion
  100. I am compared with lion
  101. Lion 🦁
  102. Lion – I always protect my family
  103. Quiet but Fierce – I would compare myself to a lioness.
  104. Everyone wants to be a lion
  105. Tuesday, March 14th, 2023
  106. Elephant
  107. Mouse
  108. Daily Prompt, 3/14/2023
  109. If I were an animal – I think I’d compare myself to a big cuddly bear
  110. I am like a bear…
  111. A scorpion because I’m so quiet and loving until crossed the stinger is quite painful.
  112. A turtle
  113. Tortoise Hard outside soft inside
  114. Glowing and Swimming in the Stomach of the Sea
  115. I’d be an opossum
  116. Poor Richard’s Blog = Griffin My purpose is to be a guardian of truth and an advocate of ethical human behavior.
  117. Platypus
  118. For this Pisces season this I know for sure.
  119. A Fish!
  120. I would say a fish of some sort.
  121. Prompt Answer… the honey badger
  122. I will compare myself to an ant.
  123. Zebra
  124. We Are Giraffe